The Beat DFW Daily Video

The team, which was selected in conjunction with the celebration of the Texas Rangers 40th Anniversary in 2012, consists of the two players each at catcher, first base, second base, third base, shortstop, and designated hitter; six outfielders; four starting pitchers; and three relief pitchers.

The Texas Rangers 40th Anniversary All-Time team was chosen by on-line fan balloting conducted between May 1 and 31, 2012 with nearly 65,000 votes being cast. Fans were asked to vote for one player at each position except outfield (3) and starting and relief pitchers (2 each).

The ballot of nominees was compiled by taking the club’s all-time leaders by games played at each position. The lists of pitchers were compiled by using the Rangers’ all-time leaders for wins, starts, appearances, and saves. As a result, select players were listed on the ballot at more than one position.

Recently retired catcher Ivan Rodriguez, outfielder Josh Hamilton, and starting pitcher Nolan Ryan received the most votes of any of the players selected. Michael Young received the most votes at shortstop and was the runner-up to Ian Kinsler at second base. In addition to Hamilton, Young, and Kinsler, three other current Rangers were elected: Elvis Andrus, second in voting at shortstop; Neftali Feliz, second in voting for relief pitcher; and Nelson Cruz, fifth in voting in the outfield.

In addition to Young, Juan Gonzalez and Rafael Palmeiro were elected at two positions each. Gonzalez received the most votes at designated hitter and was third in the balloting among outfielders while Palmeiro won at first base and was second at DH.

The 40th Anniversary All-Time Team will be honored during the Texas Rangers annual Alumni Weekend, August 10-12. That will include the Rangers 40th Anniversary Weekend Luncheon on Friday, August 10 at the Arlington Convention Center. Tickets are on sale at or by calling 817-436-5933. Net proceeds benefit the Texas Rangers Baseball Foundation. The team will also be recognized in an on-field ceremony prior to the Saturday, August 11 game with the Detroit Tigers. In addition, Eric Nadel will be inducted as the 15th member of the Texas Rangers Baseball Hall of Fame that evening.

The Texas Rangers 40th Anniversary All-Time Team (players listed in order of number of votes received; years with the Rangers are in parentheses):

C—Ivan Rodriguez (1991-2002; 2009), Jim Sundberg (1974-83; 1988-89)

1B—Rafael Palmeiro (1989-93; 1999-2003), Will Clark (1994-98)

2B—Ian Kinsler (2006-12), Michael Young (2000-12)

3B—Buddy Bell (1979-85; 1989), Steve Buechele (1985-91; 1995)

SS—Michael Young (2000-12), Elvis Andrus (2009-12)

OF—Josh Hamilton (2008-12), Rusty Greer (1994-2002), Juan Gonzalez (1989-99; 2002-03) Ruben Sierra (1986-92; 2000-01; 2003), Nelson Cruz (2006-12), Jeff Burroughs (1972-76)

DH—Juan Gonzalez (1989-99; 2002-03), Rafael Palmeiro (1989-93; 1999-2003)

SP—Nolan Ryan (1989-93), Kenny Rogers (1989-95; 2000-02; 2004-05), Ferguson Jenkins (1974-75; 1978-81), Charlie Hough (1980-90)

RP—John Wetteland (1997-2000), Neftali Feliz (2009-12), Jeff Russell (1985-92; 1995-96)

Also On 97.9 The Beat:
49 Famous People From Dallas-Ft. Worth (PHOTOS)
Nas and Erykah Badu perform at State farm arena
46 photos